Goodbye SWTOR – Hello Again Waaagh!

I’ve finally waved goodbye to SWTOR – I gave it a good run but there was just nothing to keep me playing.
I found the storylines very shallow, the regions were bland and empty and no matter which class you played you always ended up in the same places doing the same things. I couldn’t even find anything to blog about it was that bleh!
The inevitable server mergers have begun and I would guess work has started on making it F2P.
Waving a glowstick about wasn’t all that it was cracked up to be.
Best check if you still have a subscription outstanding – I cancelled mine a few months ago but when I looked at my account it was still active.

So it’s back to Warhammer Online – not Wrath of Heroes; I play the the real man’s game Age of Reckoning.
I spent the weekend getting reacquainted with my characters and shuffling stuff about and decided to run around T3 with my Zealot. To my surprise it was great fun – loads of people and plenty of action. Don’t listen to the stormcrows on the forums.
I don’t think I’ll be playing as much as I used to though as I’m busy doing up the house.
It was really nice to get back into the atmosphere of WAR – I felt a lot more immersed than I did with SWTOR – mind you on that score STO and LOTRO beat SWTOR.

On with the Waaagh!

About Fez

Warhammer, VMax, Fortean Times, Prog Metal, Guinness
This entry was posted in SWTOR, WAR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goodbye SWTOR – Hello Again Waaagh!

  1. Turino says:

    I think we’re leading a parallel online life 🙂

    I’ve been back for a few weeks now after similarly getting fed up with SWTOR. Karak-Norn seems as active as ever, especially in the lower tiers (which are great fun). It’s still early days but I think the latest patch has addressed a lot of the problems which 1.4 caused.

    Scens popping regularly in the lower tiers is a huge win.

  2. Turino says:

    The warzones were quite fun. Altho far too much cc. The fact that this was the only realistic PvP available (due to Ilum/Outlaws Den fail) exposed the lack of warzones and eventual made these quite dull too.

    I wasn’t silly enough to play the game just for PvP, but it was still a disappointment. As was the crafting (which I was quite looking forward to).

    Guild support was still not at an acceptable level even when I unsubbed. Felt very much like an after-thought, which is surprising for a MMO.

    Not ruling out giving it another try after a few patches, but I’m surprised how much I’m not missing playing it.

    So, it’s back to WAR. I won’t be putting the hours in that I used to but since renown is slowly being dethroned it makes things more accessible to the casual gamer like myself. Good times.

  3. Pingback: Kurznachrichten 26.06.2012 - WAAAGH.de

Leave a Reply

