Be Careful What You Wish For

I believe I mentioned that I would like to spend less time at work and more time gaming – this weekend I ended up with a slipped disk. Ouch!

SWTOR still consumes my waking, and now pain-filled, hours and I’m still with the Bounty Hunter/Mercenary.

I was having a lot of problems with the game eating my RAM – Windows usually takes up 2.5GB of ram on idle (6GB DDR3 fitted with i7 950 CPU) and my video card has 1.5GB (GTX480). Several times SWTOR has maxed out both ram resulting in the game regularly freezing/stuttering which only stopped when I dropped the graphics to Low (I would have thought I should be able to run on the High graphic setting no problem).
So I borrowed 12GB of ram and tried it again – SWTOR now runs at about 5GB ram and 750MB GPU ram with graphic settings on High.
It may be that the Nvidia/Windows settings need tweaking but still that’s one hungry game.
I’ve also been having problems with the left mouse button stopping working – usually during fights – but I haven’t narrowed that one down yet.

It seems that common courtesy is in short supply judging by the number of players who ninja the resources/quest points while you’re busy taking out the enemies guarding said resources/quest points – Bastards.
It can get rather busy sometimes with several players trying to complete the same quest which leads to some interesting chat from people who don’t seem to understand what an MMO is. Still, I’m sure it will all settle down in a few weeks time when the 30 days freetime is up and people start to drift off.

About Fez

Warhammer, VMax, Fortean Times, Prog Metal, Guinness
This entry was posted in SWTOR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. Charlotte says:

    I hope you heal quickly!

Leave a Reply

