Bye Bye WAR

I do all my best thinking when I’m out walking the dog in the early hours of the morning – the trouble is I’ve forgotten most of it by the time I’ve had my breakfast and got to the computer.
I tried to justify covering SWTOR, Skyrim etc. in what was supposed to be a Warhammer blog but I can’t so I’m just going to change tack and make the blog about Warhammer, gaming in general and whatever springs to mind.

I’ve not played WAR for a while now because I’m having far too much fun in SWTOR despite the servers going on and off like the lights on Cleethorpes prom.
Unfortunately, there’s just nothing in WAR to get me to log back in at the moment – maybe the things just around the corner will persuade me but I doubt it.
WAR took a nose dive in 2011 after Carrie Gouskos got her hands on it and it hasn’t recovered; the trouble is Mythic don’t seem too bothered, preferring to expend their resources on UO, DAOC and WOH.
Maybe Mythic are polishing the older games to come up with a more enticing model – one subscription for UO, DAOC and WAR. Maybe they hope that their bastard child WOH will turn around their fortunes. Who knows? Mythic are not know for their communication skills at the best of times.
I’ve invested over 3 years in WAR and I’ve had some good times playing it but the past few months have shown me just what contempt Mythic have for their subscribers.
When you see what can be achieved with F2P MMOs why should anyone bother wasting money on a game that has no support and no development.
It’ll be interesting to see what MMO model THQ will follow with Dark Millenium next year – will it go straight to F2P?

Anyhow, as far as festive forum fun goes this just about took the mince-pie – Class Action –  It was about everyone getting together and taking Mythic to court but the discussion has been removed.

So it’s onward and upward with SWTOR and dragon slaying in Skyrim – see you in 2012

/Cheers

About Fez

Warhammer, VMax, Fortean Times, Prog Metal, Guinness
This entry was posted in General, Skyrim, SWTOR, WAR, Wrath of Heroes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bye Bye WAR

  1. This makes me think of the ending in Shaun of the Dead. Shaun has his buddy Ed tied up in the toolshed behind his house. In one of the last glorious action scenes in the game, Ed was bitten by a zombie. Shaun has secretly been keeping him alive, hoping that one day the friend he loved will return.

    Or you could just take a shotgun to his head.

    • Fez says:

      lol – Nice analogy – Maybe it would be a lot kinder just to put WAR out of its misery and for Mythic to admit that they bit off a lot more than they could chew.

  2. Alpha says:

    I have some hope for Wrath of Heroes, however I fear that they might be doing the same thing they have been doing with WAR, which is turn a blind ear to legitimate concerns.

    Time will tell :/.

    • Fez says:

      I wouldn’t wish failure on any endeavour but I found WOH a bit of a mess – it’s a game full of ideas that don’t quite coalesce. Mythic have to learn to communicate – in WAR they kept saying that the changes were what the community wanted; which community they were listening to we never got to find out – I expect it will be the same with WOH.

Leave a Reply

